What to do in the case of fraud

This article explains:


What to do if your Pleo card has been used fraudulently or you don't recognize a transaction

  1. Freeze your card immediately: Log in to Pleo, either on the app or in a browser > head to My cards > tap on 'freeze card' for both plastic card and virtual.

  2. Double-check to make sure that your didn't authorise the transaction. Ask: Could it be a subscription? Is it a merchant you have spent with before? Have you shared the card with anyone else? If any of the above, we would recommend contacting the merchant directly or the potential other card user.

  3. If you've gone through the above and still don't recognise the transaction, please contact our support team with the following details:

    • The date of the transaction

    • The amount

    • The name of the merchant

    Please report any incidents of fraud within 90 days of the transaction. The sooner, the better. If it's been more than 90 days since the transaction, please feel free to contact us anyway, and we'll asses on a case-by-case basis.


How you are protected

Pleo has a process in place where we work in collaboration with Mastercard to reclaim funds which were taken fraudulently.

As a cardholder, you will not be held responsible for unauthorised transactions if:

  1. You have used reasonable care in protecting your account and card from loss or theft; and

  2. You promptly reported loss or theft to Pleo. From the original transaction or expected delivery date, Mastercard cardholders generally have no more than 120 days to file a dispute.


Why you should not share your Pleo card

  • Sharing Pleo card info and/or your Pleo login details nullifies your rights in the case of fraud. So please don't ever share this info.

  • To gain the most value of Pleo, we recommend that all company members be given a Pleo card of their own.

  • To remain compliant with our Terms and Conditions, Pleo admins must ensure that a new card is ordered for each new cardholder that joins your account.

  • The card of anyone leaving the company must be deactivated by deleting the user from Pleo.


Related articles

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article

Need more help? Contact us.

Chat with us if you have an Essential or Advanced plan, otherwise send us an email!