Why bother exporting?

Exporting ensures you can move expenses from Pleo to your accounting system, ready for reconciliation. Correct usage of the export feature will help you avoid bookkeeping issues and mistakes further down the line. Simply downloading expenses from Pleo will not move your expenses to your accounting system (unless you are using the custom format or similar file system).


The three stages of a Pleo expense

Once a card purchase or Pocket expense is registered, it should move through the following stages:

  1. Unexported: This is where settled expenses sit whilst you complete any verification or changes. This is the only stage of the three where expenses can be amended.

  2. Export queue: Once added to the export queue, expenses are no longer editable. Here you can double check the data is correct and remove from the queue if any changes need to be made.

  3. Exported: This where you view any expenses that have been exported to your accounting system. You can also export them again if necessary.


How to export expenses

  1. First, make sure you have set up the integration with your accounting system prior to exporting. If you have not done this, you can do it on the "Settings" page.

  2. Go to the "Export" page.

  3. Need to make changes to expenses before exporting? You can edit one by one or in bulk. You can use the filters in the top-right corner to find all expenses connected to a date range, account number, whether or not a receipt is missing, etc. You can also use the search field to filter based on vendor name. To make changes to multiple expenses at a time, click "Select All", "Bulk Edit", and "Apply".

  4. Move expenses from "Unexported" to the "Export queue" when you are confident everything is correct.

  5. Click on "Export" to send all selected expenses to your accounting system.


Good to know

  • It's only possible to export expenses that have been presented (i.e, where the merchant has claimed the funds).

  • Pleo automatically pre-selects expenses for exporting. The expense criteria is to have an account number and a receipt attached.

  • When expenses are moved from "Unexported" to the "Export queue", they are locked and cannot be changed by anyone unless you moved them back to "Unexported". Once exported, the expense will stay locked.

  • You can re-export expenses that have been exported previously.


Related articles

Did this answer your question?